Roger Maynard

Alfred E. Newman
(not Roger Maynard, but the resemblance is obvious)
Roger Maynard (aka "Ronald Matthews", "Rhonda Moffet" and "Realto Margarino") is a troll, bully, extortionist and impersonator who hangs around many usenet newsgroups serving trash talk and lies to anyone who shows up.
Until recently, Roger used the email address 'rm@justlinux.ca', but after giving up the justlinux.ca domain in September 2009, he has taken a variety of (mostly fake) email addresses. Notably, Roger has declared a vendetta against me (mostly because I had the audacity to have leased the justlinux.ca domain in October 2009, more than a month after he released it), using email addresses in the lewpitcher.ca domain. Roger now has licence from CIRA to four domains:
- realtomargarino.ca,
- rogermaynard.ca,
- lewpitcher.ca, and
- lewpitcher.com.
He acquired these last two domains (lewpitcher.ca and lewpitcher.com) in order to blackmail me into giving him back the justlinux.ca domain name.
Roger is somewhere around 40 years old, often claims to live in downtown Toronto (although some records show him living in Brantford, Ontario), and claims to drive a 2006 Toyota Yaris. His ISP is Primus.ca Rogers.com, which is presumably also his home telephone provider. He often exhibits homophobic behaviour, and uses homophobic language as an insult mechanism. in 1994 Roger attended Laurentian University, and began his trolling life. He regularly trolls usenet sports groups (some relating to the Toronto Maple Leafs and the Toronto Blue Jays) as well as Linux newsgroups, especially alt.os.linux.slackware.
Roger maintains a profile at linkedin.com where he claims has claimed to be a Cab Driver in Toronto, and the past administrator of justlinux.ca. He periodically enjoys expressing his usual acerbic opinions by writing letters[1,2] to the editor of the Brantford Expositor. Roger has also posted to various websites details that imply that he suffers from a disability[1, 2], which may explain his attitude towards others. In June, 2009, Roger's aunt Kathleen passed away; condolences to Roger on his loss.
Roger disappeared from Usenet in late 2008; his last post was on August 9 of that year. After more than a year absence, Roger returned to Usenet on October 11, 2009, making a series of his usually obnoxious posts to alt.os.linux.slackware, comp.os.linux.misc, rec.sport.baseball and alt.sports.hockey.nhl.tor-mapleleafs.
Roger currently posts using three email addresses:
Roger has, in the past, also posted using the email addresses:
- 'rm@justlinux.ca'
- 'rm@youasked.org'
- 'rm@biteme.org'
- 'dranyamlr@hotmail.com'
- 'realtomargarino@gmail.com'
- 'roger.maynard@justlinux.ca'
- 'roger@dranyamr.justlinux.ca'
- 'roger@dranyamr1.justlinux.ca'
- 'roger@dranyamr2.justlinux.ca'
- 'roger@dranyamr4.justlinux.ca'
- 'roger@dranyamr5.justlinux.ca'
- 'newsletter-roger=justlinux.ca@career-digest.com'
Roger isn't new to trolling. In this post we get to see a lot of his history, from when he started trolling Usenet during his time in Laurentian University, up to recent times. (Notice, in the linked post, although Roger gives a fake address for his 2006 registration of JustLinux.ca, the postal code he gives (N3S 2G5) points to Erie Avenue, Brantford, Ontario. )
Roger has publicly boasted of "owning" LewPitcher.com, and a December 1, 2009 whois for that domain shows the Registrant as "Realto Margarino" of Brantford, Ontario (the whois seems to have been "anonymized" on December 14, 2009). Someone posting as Roger has used this address before, and it does belong to a Roger Maynard, but who knows if it is our Roger Maynard.
Roger's postings (from Nov 2009 to June 2010) have a
Sender: <rm@big.realtomargarino.ca>
in the headers, and he often uses one of his lewpitcher domains to post.
A Short History of the Roger's impersonation of Lew Pitcher
It starts with http://groups.google.com/group/alt.os.linux.slackware/browse_frm/thread/..., where I warn Roger to cease using the JustLinux.ca domain (because I'd just leased it from CIRA, Roger having abandoned it a month previous). In http://groups.google.ca/group/alt.os.linux.slackware/browse_thread/threa..., Roger whines some more about the repercussions of his negligence, and how I "stole" justlinux.ca from him.
Next, in http://groups.google.ca/group/alt.os.linux.slackware/browse_thread/threa..., Roger announces that he has leased "lewpitcher.ca", and threatens to create a derogatory webpage about a fictional person that he would call "Lew Pitcher". Continuing on, in http://groups.google.ca/group/alt.os.linux.slackware/browse_thread/threa..., Roger boasts of adding lewpitcher.com to his collection. Now, in http://groups.google.ca/group/alt.os.linux.slackware/browse_thread/threa..., Roger tries to blackmail me into giving up justlinux.ca.
Finally, in http://groups.google.ca/group/alt.os.linux.slackware/browse_thread/threa..., Roger boasts that (because of his repeated postings using the lewpitcher.ca domain name) his blackmail domain sits at the top of the Google search lists.